REVIEWS

We have received many independent reviews, most, nowadays very public, through Tripadvisor and Social Media (our Facebook, Twitter and Instagram) pages. Please do take a look at them all - we are proud of the feedback (and thanks to all those people who take the time to write about us). Word of mouth and public recommendation are the best endorsements by far.

Here are some of the recent comments:

'Fascinating to both watch the cheese making process and to be able to taste all the "varieties" of Cheddar Cheese. To be honest, we were Cheddar converts long before we arrived but the possibility to see and taste the variations was really worthwhile. Of course we bought some but didn't feel any pressure to do so'. John S (no relation - honest!), Southampton. Review from Tripadvisor, March 10th 2017.

'Popped over to Cheddar for a morning and went here to have a look. We are glad we did.
We had a look at a chap making the cheese, watched the video, and bought some cheese!!!!!!
I bought a mild blue and a mature cheddar. My other half wanted a 3 pack, but they didn't have the 3 cheeses she wanted together, so they kindly made her one up.
All the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful.
It's also located in a beautiful part of our country which helps'. 
Funtime56, Southport. Tripadvisor review March 2017.

'excellent , excellent, excellent. arrived well packed and arrived quickly.wonderfull product'  Our Cheddar Cheese Straws bought via Amazon Marketplace, Margaret Smith, January 2017

'Stopped off here to sample some of the local cheese. Very impressive set up & lots of lovely tasters. Highly recommend you drop in if you are visiting the gorge & love cheese!' Kirsty F February 2017 - Tripadvisor

'Very interesting insight into cheese making!' Leyshon Griffiths, January 2017 - Facebook

'We have just had a delivery of the BEST cheese straws in the world @CheddarCheeseCo .... samples on counter tomorrow! #cheddargorgecheese' Twitter - The Cheese Larder, February 2017

'Was passing through cheddar on my way home, it was quiet so took the opportunity to stop and take a look at this shop. Smart interior, very well laid out and spotless. Good displays. Took the opportunity to buy some gift packs for Christmas presents. You could taste the different varieties and looked like there was a museum at the back. Great to support this type of business and keep local produce being produced . Will go back' KLBOS December 2016 - Tripadvisor

'you seriously need to try @CheddarCheeseCo it is the best cheese in the world !' Twitter -  Cub Campaigner January 2017

'Our Plough Board with @CheddarCheeseCo and homemade pickles' The Thoughtful Bread Company, Bath. January 2017 -  Twitter

'The @CheddarCheeseCo  #cheese straws have gone down a treat in our year end gifts, thanks for adding that real #taste of #Somerset' Blake Envelopes January 2017 - Twitter

'We purchased a pack of three cheeses, and a block of the Vintage....the vintage is amazing. We also purchased some caremalised onion chutney, which was exceptional. I could have actually bought all of the cheese...it tastes that good! Lovely, friendly staff as well'. ALJ2016fam January 2017 - Tripadvisor

'The Cheddar Gorge Cheese Company is a fabulous establishment with a special place in our hearts. When we visited on our honeymoon on the 11th August 2014, we asked if they could hold one of the truckles that we watched being made, so that we could buy a slice of it on our anniversary the following year. Not only did they do this, but they gift-wrapped the wedge for us, with the label from the truckle, and gave it to us with compliments! Fantastic service too, when we went into the shop on our first anniversary, we only had to say our names and were instantly recognised by the staff, who took us straight to senior management, who presented us with our gift. We look forward to visiting again next anniversary!' Katy Rodriguez, August 2016 (Facebook)

'Amazing hidden gem.. Great treat to see a truly amazing working cheese factory and taste the product too' Michele Jason Denbow-Arnold Novemeber 2016 (Facebook)

'To see the cheese be made is fantastic. The taste of the cave cheese is so nice we had to bring some home. They have great cool-bags to store your cheese in for your journey home.Karen Sloggett, October 2016 (Facebook)

'Visited back in June with Family, loved seeing the cheese maturing in the caves, real cheese not the tasteless cheeses of the Supermarkets. Stopped off at the Shop, so much cheese to taste and so little time. Just ordered my Cheese for Christmas'  Helen Howe, December 2016 (Facebook)

'Lots of different cheese to try - it's not just Cheddar! There's chutneys & pickles too. If I lived here there, I'd be getting all my cheese from this shop' Zoggy64 January 2017 - Tripadvisor

'I visited them on 1st Aug 2016 on a morning trip to the gorge. Their cheddar is superb, just superb. So much so I've ordered more online today and will order more'  Well done guys! Kev Edwards, August 2016


 


What's new with us? for all of our latest news, product updates and information