Reviews

We have received many independent reviews, most, nowadays very public, through Tripadvisor, Amazon, Google and Social Media (our Facebook, Twitter and Instagram) pages. Please do take a look at them all – we are proud of the feedback (and thanks to all those people who take the time to write about us). Word of mouth and public recommendation are the best endorsements by far.

 

"Hello lovely people. I just wanted to say a very big thank you for my recent order and getting it to me so quickly. I ordered Thursday morning and it arrived the next day, very impressed. I am a very big cheese lover and to be able to buy cheese online from the Gorge is brilliant, it's so good you can keep going despite the current restrictions. It has been a struggle this week; who would have thought a few pieces of cheese would be able to lift my mood and bring a smile to my face. Hopefully one day soon I'll be able to pay you a proper visit although this may be dangerous as would probably buy a lot more without thinking! Thank you again, stay safe, Angela"

Thank you Angela – the best email to receive on a Monday morning. You’ve lifted our spirits too! February 22nd, 2021

"Drawn to this shop due to the provenance of the cheese. You can buy cheddar pretty much everywhere but Cheddar made in Cheddar, enough said. Great shopping experience, lovely staff and amazing cheese. For me the cave aged and extra mature are the front runners and I genuinely munched through most they had to offer. If you a visiting then go here. If you are staying in Cheddar, go here often. Highly recommend"

Such a nice review for us to receive from Gary on Google My Business just before the 3rd Lockdown. We are SO looking forward to welcoming visitors again. Our mail orders have kept things ticking over for 12 months, for which we are eternally grateful – but there is nothing quite like the buzz of our busy shop, an audience for our cheesemakers and the cheddar cheese chit chat with our lovely customers. 

“I have been meaning to drop you a few lines for a while now and finally am getting to it!

I wanted to say how wonderful your hampers are! I have to be honest, in that I came upon you by chance and in desperation just before Christmas. 

I live in Spain, I have one brother in Germany and another brother in UK. Generally we dont send gifts to each other though there is a great love between us. We talk all the time via It media. But this year was different… with everything that has been happening in our lives and even though we are all adjusting it is sometimes very hard and especially for those of us who live away from “home” (UK). So this is where you guys came in and wow! did you deliver in every way! My brother in Germany was completely blown away by his hamper and has never stopped talking about it and how well it was packed and just how great it was to have a taste of “home”. He cant praise you enough! Ditto my other brother in Poole, Dorset, also very surprised and delighted with his truckle! So this has made me a very happy sister to have helped bring a smile and some joy to them both (and hopefully helped you too!).  As a family we hailed from Bournemouth and my father was from Somerset… every weekend in our youth we would take a trip down your way to explore… great part of the world. Gods Country indeed.. I do miss it.

I was so pleased and very pleasantly surprised by your very efficicient and A+++++ service and quality… quite a rarity these days!

Many sincere Thanks and well done, you truly deserve to succeed.. you got it right!!!

Kindest Regards and thank you… ( will definitely be in touch again!)”

Thank you to Lois,  a very happy customer. February 11th 2021

"I bought some of your cheese straws recently - they are exquisite! There's not one improvement that can be made! Absolutely delicious" 

Thank you Sheila, from Aldershot – for taking the time to ring us with your lovely feedback. January 18th 2021.

"I bought some of your cheese straws yesterday for the first time. In 53 years of eating, I can honestly say I have never tasted anything as sublime . They are off the Richter Scale! Thank you"

Now this review has made our day! Thanks Kim and Johnny, December 2020

"Sent as a gift. Very speedy dispatch and excellent delivery, well packaged with a cool pack, recipients were very pleased"

Another 5 STAR review on Amazon Dcember 20th, 2020

"Lucky enough to have been given behind the scenes access of how they make their very own cheddar cheese. Very helpful and dedicated people who are passionate about what they do!"

Thanks for this FaceBook reveiw Jack Aronowitz-Gies – lovely to meet you. December 5th 2020.

'First off....May I say Thank You for kindly taking the time to talk to me on the phone this morning, I would just like to say how very impressed I was with my parcel which was delivered as promised today, contents as follows: The four cheese hamper, an extra box of cheese straws, and an extra jar of Harvest chutney which are all fabulous, what also impressed me was the ice pack placed inside to keep everything cool and fresh (a very nice touch), as I said to you on the phone we visited your shop in August and were so delighted with the layout of all your beautiful products we had no hesitation in buying some cheese and cheese straws which were most definitely enjoyed by all. Keep up the good work guys, One very happy customer😊'

Thank you very much Bill! Delighted to get this lovely review. October 7th 2020

"CHEESE LOVERS DREAM! Paid for the tour, due to covid was limited numbers of places, was given a detailed history of the cheese company and shown the process, thoroughly enjoyable then in to the shop for some tasting. The cheese was delicious a little pricy but worth the money."

Thank you for this Tripadvisor reveiw Tracy – can’t wait to reopen our Visitor Centre!

'Hello, my cheese order has just turned up and we're already tucking into the cheese straws. These are the best I've ever tasted!'  Thanks very much, I feel sure we'll be back for more!

Thanks so much Jill – kind email received 12.05.20

'Cheese and Cheese Straws arrived on time and in excellent packaging. Great service and advice from Cheddar Gorge Cheese Company.
I had a small problem with AMEX card and I was contacted quickly to find out more about the issue and to resolve the problem.
Highly recommend the products and the people 😀'

Thanks Maz! – lovely feedback received 01.04.20.

'Hello Wonderful Cheese Company, my order has just been delivered. It was a surprise for my husband as we are O.A.P.'s and staying at home during the current crisis. I wish you could've seen Richard's face when he opened the big box of delicious goodies! Last June we made a trip from Windsor to visit you on his 70th birthday and came home with car loaded. Sadly won't be doing that this year so I'll just have to order some more when he's finished this lot. Do hope you are all staying safe and well during this strange and challenging time. Delighted that you are still able to carry on with orders which I'm sure must be very difficult for you all. 
Look after yourselves and a very big THANK YOU' 

Best wishes Isabel & Richard Cottrell – lovely message received on 31.03.20.

'I love this shop and the museum/factory behind it. Even though I've been before, the information is great and the video is really informative. We arrived a bit late in the day, so missed watching the cheese being made but we did get in for free! The cheese tasting is well organised even when it's busy and the staff are so polite and friendly'.

Nick Trosh on Google My Business Review 10.08.19

'What a fab little place keeping their tradition alive!  We enjoyed watching the video. and also managed to see them in action, separating the curd. The shop is filled with so many different things to sample.  We of course purchased cheese, plus cheese straws which were so moreish!

 Overall a wonderful experience and they do online orders, so as we aren’t local we will be using this!'

Tracey Five Stars on TripAdvisor, July 29th 2019

 

 

‘I don’t know about you, but when I hear Cheddar I think cheese. So when in Cheddar what better thing to do then to visit a cheese company, and the only one that actually makes cheese in the village. The shop is very sleek and appealing, the staff are eager to help and answered our questions, the samples were very helpful in making our decisions about which cheeses to buy. And most importantly the cheese are delicious and have a unique flavour. Whoever came up with the idea of the cooler bag with freezer packs is a genius.

Finally a note about prices, yes this isn’t the cheapest cheese you can buy but neither is it the same product. You are comparing apples to oranges, this is artisanal, small batch cheese, produced by hand. Having experience in family owned food producing enterprises, I totally understand & respect the prices these cheeses command. If these cheeses tasted like the mass produced ones, I’d have a very different review. I can assure you this is not the case’.

AndreK933 Five Stars on TripAdvisor, July 27th 2019

‘This is the place to get your Cheddar cheddar. Cave cheese is sold as well as a variety of flavoured options. They had most of the cheeses out on display for tasting. Some chutneys, mustards and crackers are also sold and there’s an opportunity to try. Delicious and very tempting to buy one of everything. The marmite cheddar is excellent!’

 5 Stars Aurelia Ven, Google My Business, May 17th 2019

‘A trip to the Cheddar Gorge wouldn’t be complete with sampling (and buying) the Cheddar Cheese. You can purchase the cheeses at many shops in the Gorge, but this shop beats them all. There is a tour of the facilities and samples of every flavor they sell. Purchase singles, bulk, or variety packs, and they even sell a lunch-bag with a freezer pack to preserve your cheese as you travel home. (FYI: I packed mine in my suitcase and they were still cold when I got home to Texas.)’

Chrissie B from Dorset. April 2019

‘Having seen the Cheddar cheese ageing inside the cave we just had to visit the shop to buy some! Once inside the shop your sense of smell goes into overdrive and there is so much cheese to choose from. You are offered samples to try and then comes decision time on what to buy! We came away with cave-aged Cheddar and some scrumptious cheese straws, both highly recommended! They make up hampers in various sizes which would make lovely gifts so I noted the website for future reference.’

Kimberly on TripAdvisor, April 2019

“Good for children to see how the Cheese is made from start to finish helping them to understand the food chain where & what it’s sourced from, then being able to sample cheese in shop before purchasing…”

LG FaceBook

WOW not just for the cheese or event the port cheese that has taken me 10yrs to find..! The tour and demo was excellent and we all loved it, they also give us a lot of free tasters so you must visit. We will be ordering more online and you must try the cheese sticks..!

KB TripAdvisor

‘If you like Cheddar Cheese then this is the Holy Grail of Cheddar production. My husband and I made a beeline for the Cheddar Gorge Cheese Co after seeing the cages of Cheese in Gough’s Cave, unhurriedly maturing in the dark quiet interior of this immense cave system. We were intrigued- and rightly so. The Cheddar Gorge Cheese Co was really interesting and the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. We came away with a bag full of goodies after many tasty samples. My favourites were the Cave Aged Cheddar and the Natural Blue. My husband really liked the Truckle Cheddar and the Oak Smoked

A real Cheese lovers delight- well worth a look, and a taste!

Pretty sure they offer online sales also, so if you find a favourite you don’t ever have to be without!’

March 21st 2017 on Trip Advisor by aussie_aimes

‘Fascinating to both watch the cheese making process and to be able to taste all the “varieties” of Cheddar Cheese. To be honest, we were Cheddar converts long before we arrived but the possibility to see and taste the variations was really worthwhile. Of course, we bought some but didn’t feel any pressure to do so’.

John S (no relation – honest!), Southampton

‘Stopped off here to sample some of the local cheese. Very impressive set up & lots of lovely tasters. Highly recommend you drop in if you are visiting the gorge & love cheese!’

Kirsty F February 2017 – Tripadvisor

‘We have just had a delivery of the BEST cheese straws in the world @CheddarCheeseCo …. samples on counter tomorrow! #cheddargorgecheese’

The Cheese Larder, February 2017

Was passing through cheddar on my way home, it was quiet so took the opportunity to stop and take a look at this shop. Smart interior, very well laid out and spotless. Good displays. Took the opportunity to buy some gift packs for Christmas presents. You could taste the different varieties and looked like there was a museum at the back. Great to support this type of business and keep local produce being produced . Will go back’

KLBOS December 2016 – Tripadvisor

‘You seriously need to try @CheddarCheeseCo it is the best cheese in the world !’

Twitter –  Cub Campaigner January 2017

‘Our Plough Board with @CheddarCheeseCo and homemade pickles’

The Thoughtful Bread Company, Bath. January 2017

‘The @CheddarCheeseCo #cheese straws have gone down a treat in our year end gifts, thanks for adding that real #taste of #Somerset’ ‘.

Blake Envelopes January 2017 – Twitter

‘We purchased a pack of three cheeses, and a block of the Vintage….the vintage is amazing. We also purchased some caremalised onion chutney, which was exceptional. I could have actually bought all of the cheese…it tastes that good! Lovely, friendly staff as well’.

ALJ2016fam January 2017 – Tripadvisor

‘The Cheddar Gorge Cheese Company is a fabulous establishment with a special place in our hearts. When we visited on our honeymoon on the 11th August 2014, we asked if they could hold one of the truckles that we watched being made, so that we could buy a slice of it on our anniversary the following year. Not only did they do this, but they gift-wrapped the wedge for us, with the label from the truckle, and gave it to us with compliments! Fantastic service too, when we went into the shop on our first anniversary, we only had to say our names and were instantly recognised by the staff, who took us straight to senior management, who presented us with our gift. We look forward to visiting again next anniversary!’

Katy Rodriguez, August 2016 (Facebook)

‘Amazing hidden gem.. Great treat to see a truly amazing working cheese factory and taste the product too’

Michele Jason Denbow-Arnold November 2016 

‘To see the cheese be made is fantastic. The taste of the cave cheese is so nice we had to bring some home. They have great cool-bags to store your cheese in for your journey home.’

Karen Sloggett, October 2016 (Facebook)

‘Visited back in June with Family, loved seeing the cheese maturing in the caves, real cheese not the tasteless cheeses of the Supermarkets. Stopped off at the Shop, so much cheese to taste and so little time. Just ordered my Cheese for Christmas’

Helen Howe, December 2016 (Facebook)

‘Lots of different cheese to try – it’s not just Cheddar! There’s chutneys & pickles too. If I lived here there, I’d be getting all my cheese from this shop’

Zoggy64 January 2017 – Tripadvisor

‘I visited them on 1st Aug 2016 on a morning trip to the gorge. Their cheddar is superb, just superb. So much so I’ve ordered more online today and will order more’  Well done guys!’

Kev Edwards, August 2016